The Ernest Hemingway Flash Fiction Prize

Though many writers have helped to shape the history of flash fiction, Ernest Hemingway’s first short-story collection, In Our Time, easily makes him one of the form’s primary pioneers. For this reason, Fiction Southeast has chosen to honor his accomplishments through the Ernest Hemingway Flash Fiction Prize. Each year, a participating judge will select a winner (and three runners-up).

Contest Guidelines:

Entries for the Ernest Hemingway Flash Fiction Prize should be approximately 1500 words or less. Submissions should be unpublished and in .rtf, .doc, or .pdf format. Feel free to submit multiple stories, but please DO NOT submit multiple Word documents as one submission or one text document containing multiple stories. Instead, please submit each story as a SEPARATE entry (so that you complete an individual submission process for each story). Simultaneous submissions ARE welcome.Contest will open annually in on June 1st with a deadline of December 1st. Entry fee is $10. All entries will be considered for publication in Fiction Southeast. Click here to submit your entry.

  • Winner – $200 and publication in Fiction Southeast
  • Finalists – publication in Fiction Southeast
*Winner and finalists typically announced in late February/early March


We are delighted to announce the winner and finalists for the 2015 Ernest Hemingway Flash Fiction Prize


The Second Most Important Explosion of 1986 by Matthew K. Thibeault


A Guide to Dating Mexican Guys by Esmeralda “Trudy” Valenzuela, Age 17 by Gregg Howard

Dead Man Dressing by Robert Grindy

Branding Day by Nicola Cassidy

Architecture by Harry Bauld

Dig a Sheet-Rag a Hole by Sam Nelson

The Last Story I Cared About by Joseph Johnson


A special thanks to Kevin Keating for acting as our judge.


Results from previous years:

2014 Winner / Finalists